You are my sunshine.

May 17, 2010

It’s a beautiful day, and that, in and of itself, is worth writing about. Apparently.

I believe that gratitude is the road to happiness. And after one very long, very snowy, very cold winter, a sunny day in Finland is all it takes to appreciate, well, everything.  Only snowplows broke the silence of winter, yet the summer is bustling with the chitter-chatter of birds hiding in trees and bicycle gears clicking into place. The sounds of swatting carpets and washing cars has never been so darn exciting. It’s as if my ears were thirsty for the music of the leaves rustling in the breeze. How’s that for a metaphor?

But I think it’s not just the sun. Perhaps my closest friend in Finland has a 2.3 year-old little girl (now betrothed to my 1.6 year-old son, of course.) She is darling and clever and affectionate, but that’s not all I see. Because this little darling, Isabella, also has thick glasses and hearing aids and two toes stuck together on either foot. Her vision and hearing are now corrected and  she is on the path to normalcy with all the other kids–except for those toes. But that’s nothing a pair of socks won’t fix. It has been a trial of persistence and diligence for her parents to achieve what I so oft take for granted. And there’s only one thing to say about that: it isn’t fair.

Where am I going with this? I guess I’m just noticing that a little girl of barely over two has made me marvel and appreciate life in a way that Shakespeare or Mozart never could. She is pure sunshine. Her clever adaptations to her situation are nothing less than artful and persuasive communication. Maybe that’s my degree in rhetoric speaking, but nonetheless, she has shown me that talents, whatever they may be, must be used wholeheartedly and without self-critical judgment. Something that lives out loud is better than an idea that suffers in internal silence. It is a great learning experience for me, perhaps not so fortunate for you, dear reader.

I wish this could sound less patronizing, less sappy, less self-indulgent, but today I don’t care. The sun is shining, and my digressing thoughts and dancing fingers can do no wrong. Besides, I’m not going to sit here and nitpick a blog when there’s grass to poke between my toes, sand to slip through my fingers, and sun to smile upon.

Leave a Reply

